Amateur Astronomy

Hi! I’m Dean, and I do amateur astronomy. I’m a beginner. I use a 70mm refractor, the Celestron Powerseeker 70AZ. The only one I could afford at the moment.

Well, it does have a shaky tripod and a hard-to-align finder, but still, it's enjoyable.

The Celestron Powerseeker 70AZ. Getting replaced sometime soon, but for now, it does a pretty good job.

It’s a small scope, but I’ll be moving on to bigger scopes sometime in the future. So far, my observation targets are the Moon and Jupiter. Not much deep-sky observing for me because I live in a city, and a dark sky is a long drive from home. So what do I do? I like to aim at the Moon and take in the lunar glory. I then increase power and get up close, attempting to spot craters and features hardly visible by plain observation. I also like to do as much science as possible, when possible. I watch Jupiter’s moons as they circle the planet. I even used high power and seen the cloud belts during a moment of bad seeing. I’ve had my glimpse of the Orion Nebula about a month back when I was at tbe province for Christmas. The Moon was waxing towards it’s perigee full Moon appearance, but I caught the faint misty envelope around young stars. I aimed my scope towards M42 again here in the city, but the cloud has gone, just stars are there. Thanks alot, light pollution.

I also do very, very simple astrophotography, although my only target has been the Moon. I need a phone adapter to do more imaging. But while I’m not completely proud of my work, I’m perfectly satisfied.

My very first work of astrophotography. I oriented the image so north would be up.

So yeah. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll post more here.

Leave a comment